Crazy error message when SSH’ing from vManage to vEdge

Back story here is I did a factory reset on the software via the command line (#request reset configuration).  After the reload and new ZTP pull I tried to connect to the vEdge via SSH from the vManage command line.

I got the following error:

# request execute ssh username@x.x.x.x

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

@    WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!     @

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

IT IS POSSIBLE THAT SOMEONE IS DOING SOMETHING NASTY!

Someone could be eavesdropping on you right now (man-in-the-middle attack)!

It is also possible that a host key has just been changed.

 

This is caused by the SSH hash changing after the new config was applied.  This is to be expected.  I had to have support fix it.  I will update this post when I get a clear response on what they did to fix it.

You have to love the “SOMEONE IS DOING SOMETHING NASTY”.  Never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d see that in production code. 🙂

Leave a Reply

